Goodness Gracious! (one year, two thousand views later)

Goodness Gracious!

Wow! It’s crazy to think that one year ago I began my summer internship as a Youth and Worship Student, and so my Thought of the Day posts. Shortly after I decided to try out this blog as a way of sharing my heart and using my voice. This is my 75th blog post!! I’ve been so blessed by the things God has taught me, as well as the encouragement and support of my readers.

Looking back, I’d like to share and recap the top posts from this last year.

3. When Did Profanity Become Acceptable? August 16, 2013

I think this post really highlights what I feel is the purpose of this blog. The clashing of Kingdom culture and worldly culture can be confusing, but when we don’t ask questions and establish standards, we find ourselves in dangerous territory. Language may not seem like a such a big deal, but standards built on the foundation of the Bible and leading of the Holy Spirit are essential, and our words may be a good place to start. I don’t want to point fingers, or accuse, or “guilt” people into piety, I’m just trying to be honest about the things I question, share in the struggle of life, and rejoice in the wonder of grace.

2. Donuts February 24, 2014

I think the popularity of this piece comes from how easy it is to relate. I wrote the piece myself, yet God frequently uses it to remind me of the work He is doing in my heart and attitude. My selfish, privileged attitudes do not reflect Christ. They are something I have to continually surrender, in order to be made more like Him.

1. Born and Raised Part 2: My Generation December 21, 2013

The response to this piece means the most to me. The discussions I got to have with friends, the articles I found to read, and the peace, conviction, and excitement I felt in writing it were a highlight of my year. This is why I write! I want to use my voice, and be real and vulnerable. The Church is made of all ages, races, and backgrounds. We are scared, hurting and broken. When we unite under Christ, we are a beautiful bride. This happens when we open our hearts, and allow community to happen with those around us.

The idea of God moving in our world is exciting, and is reality.

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. Do not quench the Spirit. Do not treat prophecies with contempt but test them all; hold on to what is good, reject every kind of evil.

May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through. May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. The one who calls you is faithful, and he will do it.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-24

 

Leave a Reply

