In, or Out?

 

 

This has got to be one of the most respectful and thoughtful responses I’ve seen to Donald Miller’s posts about why he chooses not to regularly attend church.Thank you Carey Nieuwhof!

If you haven’t read the original, discussion-sparking articles, you can find them here and here.

I believe in church. I believe in intentional community, accountability, authenticity and vulnerability. I understand that not everyone finds that in the setting of a traditional North American church. I don’t always either, but I have been very blessed to be a part of my home congregation. What these articles tell me, is that rather than leaving the church, we ought to work together to make the church more what Christ would have it be.

Don’t forget however, that Christian community does not have to be found solely within a physical church. Where is your favourite place and way to fellowship with brothers and sisters?

Leave a Reply

