True Pursuit

I’ve realized that I use the term “pursuing God” a lot. When I say that, it’s not entirely accurate. God is not some distant being who I cannot connect with unless I initiate.

He has pursued me since the beginning of His big story! He knew that I would mess up, and ignore Him, and it would be impossible for us to have a relationship.

In His pursuit of me, He became a mere human, and died as the sacrifice for my sins, so that I could be forgiven, and reconciled to Him. He did the unimaginable just so it would be possible for me to know Him.

He pursued me to the ends of the Earth and so anything I do is not  “pursuing Him,” but instead responding to His love. I receive forgiveness, I reciprocate devotion, and I invite His presence into my life.

He has pursued us, and it is up to us to respond.
He has pursued us, and it is up to us to respond.

What I can pursue is a life that reflects and honours Him. In this pursuit, I am drawn closer to Him, and gain understanding of His heart for Creation.

2 thoughts on “True Pursuit

Leave a Reply

