The Cross

I was struck yesterday by the image of two guys at church carrying the cross off the stage. They weren’t small, weak guys, yet shouldering the weight of the cross made their faces go a little red with effort, and they had a hard time maneuvering it. Christ had been beaten, whipped, spat on and mocked. Then he was made to carry his cross to Golgotha. With my pain tolerance I wouldn’t have even been walking, let alone carrying a cross!

I think a lot of times we don’t think about the cross and it’s implications outside of Easter. Our GOD confined himself to the human body, endured pain beyond what I can imagine, and unceasing humiliation. Because he loves me. Every second of that was an expression of his desire to reconcile us to him. I think that’s too big of a deal to only consider one weekend a year!

Leave a Reply

