Dependence vs. Independence

(inspiration: Jesus Calling by Sarah Young,Β June 24)


In our world, we are taught that to be mature, we must be independant, strong and capable. As teens there is a lot of pressure to grow up, to become independant. Whether you are about to enter high school, graduating or somewhere in between, you are learning about yourself and the world’s expectations of you for the rest of your life. Being self-reliant is a daunting idea, but one that we have grasped onto because of everything being preached to us in society.

As Christians, we can cling to the incredible knowledge that we don’t have to be able to do everything ourselves. We have the Creator of everything on our side! Jesus is waiting for you to ask for help. He desires to be the one you cling to and depend on. He will give you strength when you feel like you just can’t do it on your own.

Praise God for His strength and prescence throughout your life! Today I challenge you to reflect on a time in the past when He stepped in when you could not do things on your own. Be mindful of His prescence today, and remember to go to Him first when you need help.

Psalms 62:5-8

“Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from him. Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge. Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.”

Leave a Reply

